Village elections are Sept. 15

Johnson News Service Village elections were Sept. 15 in Livingston County.

Caledonia, Geneseo and Lima will see new faces on its village boards, while other communities saw incumbents returned to office following village elections on Tuesday.

The elections, which normally take place in March, were delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Residents in six of Livingston County’s nine villages cast votes, with contested races in Geneseo, Leicester, Lima and Nunda. Candidates seeking office in Avon and Caledonia ran unopposed.

Here are the unofficial results for each village from the Livingston County Board of Elections:


Incumbent Thomas Freeman, a Democrat, received 82 votes, or 87.2%, as he was returned to another four-year term as mayor. He was running uncontested, though the office did receive 12 write-in votes, according to unofficial results from the Livingston County Board of Elections.

Trustees William Zhe, an incumbent, and Patrick McCormick received 93 votes each, or 49.7% each, to earn the two open seats on the village board. Both trustees are Republicans. There was also a single write-in vote cast.

McCormick replaces trustee Robert Hayes, whose term was expiring and who chose not to seek re-election.


There were no contested races in Caledonia. Republican incumbent Mark Riggi received 64 votes, or 97%, in his bid for another four-year term as justice. There were two write-in votes.

Republican trustees Gerald O’Donoghue, an incumbent, and Dorothy Grant-Fletcher were elected to village board seats. O’Donoughue, with 56 votes or 51.9%, and Dorothy Grant-Fletcher, 50 votes or 46.3%, were running unopposed. There were two write-in votes for trustee.


Eddie Lee retained his seat on the village board and will be joined by newcomer Katarina Woods, a junior at SUNY Geneseo. Lee and Woods both ran on the Democratic and Geneseo Together party lines.

Lee was the top vote getter with 359 votes, or 40.3% of the total. Woods received 299 votes, or 33.6%.

There were 232 write-in votes cast, or 26.1%. Among those receiving write-in votes was Bob Wilcox, a former trustee who had previously served on the village board for eight years.

Woods is studying history, adolescent education and museum studies at SUNY Geneseo. Former village board members Mary Rutigliano and Matthew Cook were students when elected to the board.

Incumbent Village Justice Kathleen Houston was re-elected with 395 votes, or 69.6% percent. She was running on Republican and Geneseo United party lines.

Houston defeated David Kleine, who received 167 votes, or 29.6%. He ran on the Democratic and Geneseo Together party lines.

The justice race saw three write-in votes cast.


Four candidates were seeking two open seats on the village board in Leicester, in what is the closest race of the election, according to unofficial results.

Just 10 votes separate the four candidates, and the top three vote getters are all within two votes, according to unofficial results.

Incumbents Thomas Frantz, a Republican seeking his third term as trustee, and Ken Rizzo, a Democrat, are the leading vote getters. Frantz received 45 votes, or 27%, while Rizzo received 44 votes or 26.4%.

Republican Daniel Christiano received 43 votes, or 25.8%, while Janet E. Green, a Democrat, received 35 votes, or 21%.

No write-in votes were counted, according to unofficial results.


Republicans John P. Skiptunas and Joshua P. Petraitis were elected to two open seats on the village board. Skiptunas received 159 votes, or 31.6%, while Joshua P. Petraitis tallied 144 votes, or 28.6 percent.

Eric T. Baker received 112 votes, or 22.3%, and David M. Cabrera garnered 88 votes, or 17.5%. Baker and Cabrera ran on the Democrat and Lima Community Advancement party lines.

There were no write-in votes cast for trustee, according to unofficial results.

The trustees fill seats previously held by Jerry Warsaw and Joe Schwing, whose terms are expiring.

Incumbent Mayor John Correll, a Republican, was unopposed. He received 193 votes, or 99%. There were two write-in votes.


There were contested races for justice and trustee in the village of Nunda.

Emily Stoufer, a Republican, won the justice race with 169 votes, or 82.44%. She defeated Alan Calhoun, a Democrat, who received 36 votes, or 17.6%.

The election was to fill the unexpired village justice term left vacant after the resignation of former Justice James R. Mann Jr. in December 2019 as part of an agreement with New York’s Commission on Judicial Conduct. The Commission accused Mann of using his position to get his former brother-in-law out of a driving while intoxicated arrest in 2016.

Stoufer had been appointed Nunda town and village justice in January after Mann’s resignation.

Two incumbents were re-elected to village board seats. Republicans Donald Wilcox received 175 votes, or 42.6 percent, and Melvin W. Allen tallied 136 votes, or 33.1%.

Democrat Bob Cox received 100 votes, or 24.3%.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Johnson Newspapers 7.1